Migration Conflicts

People whose parents or grandparents moved from another country to Germany often face particular challenges. Growing up in two very different worlds, familial responsibilities, supporting parents in dealing with the authorities, multilingualism – these are challenges from which many skills and strengths can develop. This is a good thing!
So it’s not migration that’s the problem, but that due to the migration situation conflicts might arise.
The downside might be, for example, to be exposed to the prejudices of others, not feeling a real sense of belonging anywhere or needing to meet the expectations of parents or the network that are hard to fulfil or don’t correspond to your own personal plans for the future. Sometimes it’s even expected that a person marries someone she or he doesn’t love. Although forced marriage is banned in Germany and is a violation of human rights, it’s not that uncommon.
Maybe you would like to talk to someone who understands your situation and who doesn’t need to be explained too much. We have an employee who knows about growing up in different cultures from her own experience. Just ask for Gül.

Migrationskonflikte

Menschen, deren Eltern oder Großeltern aus einem anderen Land nach Deutschland gezogen sind, stehen oft vor besonderen Herausforderungen. Das Aufwachsen in zwei sehr verschiedenen Welten, familiäre Verpflichtungen, Unterstützung der Eltern bei Behördengängen, Mehrsprachigkeit - das sind Anforderungen, durch die sich viele Fähigkeiten und Stärken entwickeln können. Das ist gut!

Nicht die Migration ist also das Problem, sondern durch die Migrationssituation kann es zu Konflikten kommen.

Schattenseiten können z.B. sein, den Vorurteilen von anderen ausgesetzt zu sein, sich nirgendwo richtig dazugehörig zu fühlen oder Erwartungen der Eltern oder des Netzwerkes entsprechen zu müssen, die schwer zu erfüllen sind oder der eigenen Lebensplanung entgegenstehen. Manchmal wird sogar erwartet, dass man einen Menschen heiratet, den man nicht liebt. Obwohl Zwangsverheiratung in Deutschland verboten ist und gegen die Menschenrechte verstößt, kommt sie gar nicht so selten vor.

Vielleicht möchtest Du mit jemandem sprechen, die Deine Situation versteht, der Du nicht viel erklären musst. Wir haben eine Mitarbeiterin, die das Aufwachsen in verschiedenen Kulturen aus eigener Erfahrung kennt. Frag` einfach nach Gül.